New Journey!

Here we are in the year 2017. Where has the time gone? With everything happening in the world around us, my mind has been on over drive. What if we were to enter an other great depression? Would my family be able to survive? The answer to this question would be NO! In capital letters.

Let’s start from the beginning… I meet my now husband in 2006. I was a wet eared senior in high school and hadn’t a clue about life. The day I turned 18 I moved out of my home with my single mother and moved in with my future husband.

I tried the college scene for a couple years. Which didn’t get me very far. Life is rough. They didn’t teach Life 101 in high school! I needed money more than an education at the time. Well in the meantime life happened. In 2009 we had our little boy!

There was no time for education then. I had a family to help provide for. Same old story, working everyday to make ends meet.

In 2012, my husband and I decided it was time to tie the knot. Without very much money, we decided to take the day off work and went to the court house. A couple weeks later we spilled the beans to the family.

In 2013, we decided to buy our first house. And let me say, it will probably be our only house. For the head aches we had to go through to fiance the house, we agreed we would never do it again.

Now here we are in 2017! Still living in the same house trying to make ends meet. When you live pay check to pay check you start to think of ways to make life easier/ simpler.

I don’t like to get into the topics of politics, or religion. But I have come to the realization that the world around us is falling apart. It is somewhat scary. So I have come to the conclusion of trying to make our life simpler so if something would happen we might be able to survive it.

In this journey of My Simple Life in the Country I am going to learn as much as I can through books, Pinterest, and the internet about living with what we already have, growing our own food, storing/preserving our food, and so on.

I hope you will stick around with me on this never ending journey!

Leave a Reply

