Planning My Summer Garden!

I love this time of year! The holiday’s are behind us. The weather is somewhat nice! Spring is right around the corner! And going to the mail box is full of excitement knowing that there is seed catalogs waiting for you inside. That’s when the planning begins.

This year the husband and I are going to do things a little different than last year’s garden. Lasts year’s garden didn’t do very good, due to our soil situation. (I will tell that story another time!) So with some conversation, I got the husband talked into a raised garden this year!

So the planning begins! For the first year I am just going to grow the 8 basics that we love!

  1. Pepper’s of all kinds. (Green, Yellow, Red, Banana, and Jalapeno)
  2. Two different tomatoes. (Big Boy or Pink, and Cherry)
  3. Cucumbers
  4. Potatoes
  5. Sweet Potatoes
  6. Zucchini
  7. Strawberries
  8. Peas or Green beans

The cucumbers, zucchini, peas, and green beans are going to need some sort of trellises.

I have been doing my research and so far I have fallen in love with the raised bed that is in the shape of a C! I think it would work well for the area I am wanting to place it.

Next step is to start gathering supplies to build it. I’m going to need something for the outside walls and some rabbit fencing to place in the bottom of the raised beds. I have some left over livestock fencing that I will be able to use for the trellises. Some pebbles to lay on top of the rabbit fencing would be ideal, but I think I will use cardboard, newspaper, and straw instead.

Then on to the plants! Where am I going to buy them from?!? I think I am going to try and stay local this year! I’m going to help out a local greenhouse instead of the big companies.

Next on the list:

  1. Blackberries/Raspberries
  2. Fruit Trees

Until next time, start planning! Spring is right around the corner!

Leave a Reply

